Virginia’s Early Lease Termination Law for Domestic and Sexual Violence Victims
Monday, July 21st, 2014
Virginia’s early lease termination law went into effect July 1, 2013 and aims to help renters who are victims of domestic or sexual violence. The law provides certain victims of family abuse, sexual abuse and sexual assault the right to terminate their residential leases with approximately 30 days’ advance written notice to their landlords.
To terminate a residential lease agreement under the new law, a tenant must provide the landlord with written notice of an intention to terminate the lease. When the tenant gives the landlord this written notice, he or she must also provide the landlord with a copy of the protective order or conviction order. The written notice must state the date on which the lease agreement will terminate. This date must be at least 30 days before the next rent payment is due. For example, if the tenant wanted to move out in the beginning of July, and rent was due on the first of the month, he or she would have to give notice to the landlord on or before June 1st.
Please read our fact sheet on early lease termination for a more detailed explanation of this new law.
The news story below talks about this law and other new Virginia laws to protect renters: